site-logoicon             5 classes for $5

Foundations Yoga: Level 1


This class is taught by:

Carson Ford

Carson serves many roles at Balance, including Studio Director and instructor. She began her teaching career as a teenager, coaching swimming and dance throughout high school and college. Carson developed a love for the body and how it works while earning a Bachelor’s of Science in Exercise Physiology from Midwestern State University. Carson began practicing yoga in 2015 and was instantly drawn to the mind-body connection reached through the practice. She felt that the body awareness she developed through dance and the mechanical understanding of the body she gained through her degree came together perfectly to give her a special connection to the practice.

Carson completed her 200RYT training with Toni Farris at Yoga Tree in Plano, Texas and is registered with the Yoga Alliance. Carson specializes in beginner and modified yoga and has a passion for teaching a safe and mindful practice. She developed the Foundations Yoga program for Balance and enjoys working with first-time yogis of all ages. In addition to Foundations, Carson enjoys teaching Flow Yoga and Restorative Yoga, as well as Barre and Core Pilates. She is currently working toward her 500RYT and plans on becoming a teacher trainer.

Foundations Yoga is a modified, beginner version of our Flow Yoga class.  In Foundations, all poses are modified and  performed at a slower pace to give students time to learn poses and transitions in a way that compliments their personal level.  Students will learn how to: build poses in a way that honors the anatomy of their bodies, use modifications to get the maximum benefit from each pose, and become adept at using props to aid the yoga practice.  Foundations Yoga is suited for beginner yogis, those recovering from an injury or experiencing mobility issues, and even expecting mothers.

Upcoming classes:

  • Wed Dec 12 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm with Carson Ford
  • Mon Dec 17 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Carson Ford
  • Wed Dec 19 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm with Carson Ford
  • Wed Dec 26 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm with Carson Ford
  • Wed Jan 02 12:30 pm - 1:30 pm with Carson Ford
  • Mon Jan 07 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Carson Ford
  • Mon Jan 14 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Carson Ford
  • Mon Jan 21 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Carson Ford
  • Mon Jan 28 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Carson Ford
  • Mon Feb 04 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Carson Ford
  • Mon Feb 11 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Carson Ford
  • Mon Feb 18 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Carson Ford
  • Mon Feb 25 5:15 pm - 6:15 pm with Carson Ford